Comilla District কুমিল্লা জেলার সকল তথ্য
Home / Dristrict Info / Comilla District কুমিল্লা জেলার সকল তথ্য

Comilla District কুমিল্লা জেলার সকল তথ্য

Please Hit 5 Star

Comilla district is a situated under Chittagong division of present day. In ancient times, it belonged to the Samatata civic and later it was a part of Tripura state. From ancient archives found in this region, it is known to the Gupta emperors of Tripura from the fifth century AD. According to historians, Buddhist dynasty ruled from this region till the middle of the 8th to the middle of the 8th century. In the ninth century Comilla came under the rule of Harikela kings. It is found from the fact that from around 10th century till the middle of the 11th century, this region was ruled by the Chandra Dynasty.

Comilla district

Tripura’s collector was started in 1790 by the formation of Tripura district. In 1947, after the partition of the country, Tripura was named after the district in 1960 and the post of district magistrate and collector was named after the deputy commissioner. In 1984, two subdivisions of Comilla were reconstituted as separate districts of Chandpur and Brahmanbaria.

Geography of Comilla District

Geographical history of Comilla district can be found on the ancient map of East Indian countries written by Paragittar. This map shows the location of Sagurnup in the south of this region of Bangladesh, Pragjyotis and Kirat in the north. In roughly the river of the Red River, Pragjyotis and the foothills of the eastern mountains were known as Kiratas. The red river is the current Brahmaputra. The plains of the middle of the district – the Chandina floodplain plain was formed during the time the Brahmaputra was carried out.

Upazila List of Comilla District

  1. Barura Upazila
  2. Brahmanpara Upazila
  3. Burichong Upazila
  4. Comilla Sadar Upazila
  5. Comilla Sadar Dakshin Upazila
  6. Chandina Upazila
  7. Chauddagram Upazila
  8. Daudkandi Upazila
  9. Debidwar Upazila
  10. Homna Upazila
  11. Laksam Upazila
  12. Lalmai Upazila
  13. Monohorgonj Upazila
  14. Meghna Upazila
  15. Muradnagar Upazila
  16. Nangalkot Upazila
  17. Titas Upazila

Pourashavas: 8

Number of Union Parishad: 185

Comilla District Economy

Although the economy of Comilla has been flourished through trade and cottage industries, especially the ‘Khadi’ textile, its’ mainly based on agriculture. the “Bangladesh Export Processing Zone Authority” has established the “Comilla Export Processing Zone” spread over an area of 104.44 hectares (258.1 acres) in the Comilla Airport area in 2000 for the economic development of the region. According to the 2013 stats, the export zone employs 20 thousand people.

Comilla District Archaeological Heritage

In Lalmai Mainamati hills tracks are available the marks of rich ancient civilization have been found. There are plenty of archaeological sites including Shalvan Vihara, Kutila Mura, Charandra Mura, Rupban Mura, Itakhola Mura, Satera Ratna Mura, Ranir Banglar Pahar, Ananda Bazar Palaces, palaces of Bhoj King, Chandi Mura, etc in these hills. Moreover, there are many archaeological relics including images and metalled utensils discovered from these viharas, muras and palaces are now preserved in the Mainamati Museum.

Comilla District Population & Literacy

Comilla district’s total population is 53,87,288 where Male 25,75,018 and Female 28,12,270. The sex ratio is 92:100 and the population density 1712/Sq Km along with annual growth rate is 1.58%. Besides, the rate of literacy of the district is 68% where Male 54.10% and Female 52.60%. The rate of school attendance is 54.90% for 5 to 24 years age group.

Comilla District 10th Parliament Member’s

Comilla-1: Major General Mohammad Shubid Ali Bhuiyan (Retd.), Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-2: Mohammed Amir Hossain, Jatiya Party

Comilla-3: Yussuf Abdullah Harun, Independent

Comilla-4: Razee Mohammad Fakhrul, Independent

Comilla-5: Abdul Matin Khasru, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-6: A.K.M. Bahauddin, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-7: Professor Md. Ali Ashraf, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-8: Nurul Islam Milon, Jatiya Party

Comilla-9: Md.Tajul Islam, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-10: A.H.M Mustafa Kamal, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla-11: Md. Mazibul Hoque, Bangladesh Awami League

Comilla District Major Crops

Comilla district grows Paddy, jute, wheat, mustard seed, eggplant, Linseed, sesame, sweet potato, china and kaun etc.

Comilla District Major Fruits

Comilla district’s major fruits are Mango, jackfruit, banana, papaya, coconut, palm and guava.

Comilla District Major Rivers

The main rivers of Comilla district meghna, gumti and dakatia.

Comilla District Natural resources

Comilla district is full of natural resources. Two natural gas fields have been discovered in Bakhrabad of Muradnagar thana near Brahmanbaria of the district. Here the gas is being extracted from 08 wells. First gas lift began in 1984. Estimated gas reserves of 30/35 million cubic feet. Besides, there have been discovered silica sand in Chauddagram upazila and in this district there is special type of glue clay, which are made from clay items. There are also groundwater resources which help in irrigation.

Comilla District Bank

There are all commercial and government bank in Comilla district. Some of them are below:

  1. The Sonsani Bank
  2. Janata Bank
  3. Agrani Bank
  4. Rupali Bank
  5. Pubali Bank
  6. Uttara Bank
  7. Agricultural Bank
  8. Grameen Bank
  9. Islami Bank
  10. National Bank

Comilla District Newspapers

There are many newspapers in Comilla district, such as

Daily Rupasi Bangla (1972),

Weekly Amod (1955),

Abibhadan (1994),

Natunpatra, Samayatra (1967),

Daily Comilla Batra,

Daily Bangladesh Sangbad,

Monthly Manan,

Comilla Postal Code

  • Comilla Sadar Postal Code: 3500
  • Barura: 3560
  • Brahmanpara: 3526
  • Burichang: 3520
  • Chandina: 3510
  • Chouddagram : 3550
  • Davidhar: 3530
  • Homna: 3546
  • Laksam: 3570
  • Langalkot: 3580
  • Muradnagar: 3540

Tourist Place

There are many famous places to visit in Comilla district. These include Moynamoti, Kort-Bari, BARD, Lalmay Hill, Shalbon Amorous Diversion, Second World War cemetery, Meghna-Gomoti Bridge, Bakhrabad Gas Field, Dhormosagor, Jagannath Bari Temple and Lake, Lateshor Lake, Core of Buddhist Civilization, Pashchimgaon Nawab Bari, Victoria College, Comilla Zilla School, Kutila Mura, Charandra Mura, Rupban Mura, Itakhola Mura, Satera Ratna Mura, Ranir Banglar Pahar, Ananda Bazar Palaces, etc.

Famous person of Comilla

Some people have enlightened the Comilla district. These include Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad (Ex-president), Dhrindra Nath Datta (Politician), A. T. M. Samsul Hoque (Politician), Prof. Mozaffor Ahmad, Azit Kumar guha (Writer), Anis Chowdhury (Writer), Nawab Fayjunnessa Chowdhury, Buddhyadeb Basu (Novelist), Sachin Deb Barman (Singer, composer & music director), Sursagor Himanshu Dutta, etc.

Comilla District Miscellaneous

  • Language: Bangla
  • Government Primary Schools: 1330
  • Non Government Primary Schools: 673
  • Government High Schools: 9
  • Non Government High Schools: 19
  • Polytechnic Institure: 1
  • Comilla Medical College: 01
  • Upazila Health Complex: 17
  • Comilla Govt College: 10
  • Comilla university: 01
  • Private College: 31
  • Division: Chittagong
  • Police hospital: 01
  • CMH Comilla: 01
  • Chest Disease Hospital: 01
  • Diabetic Hospital: 02
  • Ideal Villages: 6
  • Time Zone: +6
  • Official Website:
  • Comilla City Corporation: 01
  • Mosque (Mosjid): Major 156 registered
  • Temple (Hindu): 76 registered
  • Stadium: 1
  • Public Library: 1

About Me

Hello, I'm Md Anwar Hossain from Dhaka, Bangladesh. Founder of [Bangladeshi Number 1 Education, Entertaintment And Technolozy Blog]. I like to write about Bangladeshi Topic in this Blog.

Leave a Reply